

ANTELOPE VALLEY COLLEGE DISTANCE EDUCATION AND TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE MINUTES April 14, 2015 3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. L 201

To conform to the open meeting act, the public may attend open sessions

- CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL The Distance Education & Technology Committee (DETC) of April 14, 2015 was called to order at 3:40 p.m. by Dr. Nancy Bednar, Co-Chair.
- 2. OPENING COMMENTS FROM THE CHAIRS
 - On behalf of Dr. Charlotte Forte-Parnell, Dr. Bednar announced an upcoming Online Teaching Conference in San Diego to be held June 18 – 19, 2015. Anyone interested in attending should let Dr. Bednar know. Diane Flores-Kagan, Dr. Ken Lee and Deborah Sullivan-Ford expressed interest in attending.
 - Dr. Bednar reminded members the DETC is in need of a new faculty co-chair and asked members to considering serving.
- 3. OPEN COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC
- 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES
 - a. March 24, 2015 DETC Meeting (attachment) A motion was made and seconded to approve minutes of the March 24, 2015 Distance Education and Technology Committee meeting. Motion carried with one (1) correction.
- 5. DISCUSSION ITEMS
 - a. Senate Task Force to Redesign Distance Education Approval in AP&P Dr. Scott Lee Dr. Scott Lee addressed members to explain a new task force that was established to recreate the distance education form that is in addition to the course outline of record form. The task force consists of Dr. Scott Lee, John Toth, Ken Sawicki, Dr. Darcy Wiewall and Tooraj Gordi. The goal is to have the new form completed by the end of the Spring 2015 semester.

AP&P will look at and recreate all online courses in Fall 2015.

b. Online Teaching Conference, Summer 2015 – Dr. Charlotte Forte-Parnell

6. ACTION ITEMS

- a. OEI MOU (attachment) A motion was made and seconded to accept the Online Education Initiative (OEI) Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) – see attachment. Motion carried unanimously.
- 7. ANNOUNCEMENTS

8. ADJOURNMENT

The Distance Education and Technology Committee meeting of April 14, 2015 was adjourned at 4:05 p.m. by Dr. Nancy Bednar, Co-Chair.

MEMBERS PRESENT		
Dr. Nancy Bednar	Dr. Scott Lee	Ken Sawicki
Diane Flores-Kagan	Dr. Tom O'Neil	John Toth
Ron Mummaw	Rick Shaw	Deborah Sullivan-Ford (proxy)
MEMBERS ABSENT		
Walter Briggs	Angela Shaheen	Jayme Star
Dr. Charlotte Forte-Parnell	Tristan Schnidermeit	
Candice Martin	Scott Tuss	
GUESTS/EX-OFFICIO		
Mike Wilmes	Greg Krynen	Geary Cook

NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY

Antelope Valley College prohibits discrimination and harassment based on sex, gender, race, color, religion, national origin or ancestry, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, cancer-related medical condition, or genetic predisposition. Upon request, we will consider reasonable accommodation to permit individuals with protected disabilities to (1) complete the employment or admission process, (b) perform essential job functions, (c) enjoy benefits and privileges of similarly-situated individuals without disabilities, and (d) participate in instruction, programs, services, activities, or events.